Sally M Turner MA VetMB DVOphthal MRCVS

RCVS Specialist in Veterinary Ophthalmology

Sally Turner qualified from the University of Cambridge in 1991. She spent 2 years in small animal practice  before taking up a Residency in Comparative Ophthalmology as Guide dogs for the Blind Association (GDBA) Fellow at the Animal Health Trust, Newmarket.  She gained her Certificate in Ophthalmology in 1994 and then the Diploma in 1997. She is an RCVS Recognised Specialist in Veterinary Ophthalmology and currently works at both Stone Lion and Mandeville Veterinary Hospitals. In addition to providing a full ophthalmology referral service for client’s pets she is also a member of the BVA/KC/ISDS Eye Testing Panel which provides a screening service for inherited ocular disease in dogs prior to breeding.She has been on the RCVS Ophthalmology Board and acts as and RCVS Examiner for both Certificate and Diploma examinations. She also teaches and examines for the European School of Veterinary Postgraduate Studies (ESVPS). Sally regularly lectures to both veterinary surgeons and nurses, both in the UK and abroad. She is the author of two books on veterinary ophthalmology. She is interested in all aspects of clinical ophthalmology, especially surgical conditions and inherited ophthalmic disease.

Sally’s qualifications – what do they mean?


This is the veterinary degree from the University of Cambridge. It is a six year course which includes the MA in natural sciences or similar and the VetMB which is the actual veterinary part of the degree.


The Diploma in Veterinary Ophthalmology is the specialization exam run by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS). It is a very stringent examination which is taken after completing a 3 year residency in the subject. Sally did her residency at The Animal Health Trust ( and passed her Diploma examination in 1997.


Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. All qualified vets who wish to practice in the UK must register as members of RCVS (the governing body of the profession).

RCVS Specialist in Veterinary Ophthalmology

To be included on the List of Recognised Specialists, an individual must have achieved a postgraduate qualification to at least at Diploma level, and must additionally satisfy the RCVS that they make an active contribution to their specialty, have national and international acclaim and publish widely in their field. A Recognised Specialist must also be available for referral by other veterinary colleagues. Recognised Specialist status is time-bound, and the individual must reapply for recognition every five years to maintain their name on the List. This is the highest tier of qualification in the UK.


Saunders Solutions in Veterinary Practice: Small Animal Ophthalmology

by Sally M. Turner MA VetMB DVOphthal MRCVS

ISBN: 978-0702028724

Veterinary Ophthalmology:
A Manual for Nurses and Technicians

by Sally M. Turner MA VetMB DVOphthal MRCVS
ISBN: 978-0750688413

Both books are available to purchase from Amazon and Elsevier online